Seen any good movies lately?

April 25, 2009

So – I have Netflix.  Which I LOVE.  I also have a big collection of DVDs.  I used to have a huge collection of tapes.  This all comes not from a love of movies so much as a long term desire for background noise coupled with some occasional but nasty insomnia.

Which leads to a lot of movies.  Strangely over time I have stopped going to the movie theater unless I know I MUST see the movie on the big screen.  Usually only about one or two a year these days.  (Last one was Coraline in 3-D and I thought it was worth every penny.)

Since I can’t really figure out what to type about today, I thought I’d give a list of a few movies you might not have seen, that I love.

Brick – Un-ironic Noir in High School.  This film is amazing.  Watch it when you can focus on it.  It deserves your attention.

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day – Sweet simple romance.  My mom told me about this movie.  I lent her my copy of the book.  She sent me The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society to read.  I like simple pretty stories with happy endings from time to time.

Igor – Pixar may do it better but there really is something simple and wonderful about this little animated wonder.  It’s cute.  And Steve Buscemi does one of the voices.

Elaine Stritch: at Liberty – This is very frightening honesty broken up with song and dance numbers.  Plus it reminds me that I LOVE Ethel Merman.

This Filthy World – I found out I could watch this instantly on Netflix.  So I did.  Over and over.  John Waters is a very funny man.

Engineering an Empire – It’s hosted by a professor from Syracuse University who just happens to be Buckaroo Bonzai.  I LOVE this damn show.

Tron – Yes I am waiting for the sequel.  I’ve been waiting since the first time I watched the movie.  What’s your point?  When was the last time you watched it?  You should take a look again – it’s still great.

Nero Wolfe Mysteries – A&E did this series for 2 seasons from 2001 – 2002.  I taped a few on VHS but Clara just bought me the DVD box set.  I love presents from Clara.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy – Alec Guinness is a genius.  For more than just Obi-Wan Kenobi.  This series wrapped itself around me and refused to let go.  “Love to Anne.  Everybody’s love to Anne.”  So good.  So very good.

Desk Set – Maybe it’s the romance.  But I think it might actually be the sharp dialogue.  Nora Ephron had very smart parents.  They wrote this movie.  They it was brilliantly performed by Tracy and Hepburn.

The Barefoot Contessa – Ava Gardner was lumonous.  And Humphrey Bogart was so touchingly human.  This movie makes my emotions crawl out of my skin and wrap around me like a blanket.  “Just because it is big and white and a yacht, is it not still dirt.”  Morals are not paintings on walls and scruples are not money in Russia.  That’s why I love this movie.

That’s it for now.  Maybe you have already seen these movies.  Maybe you will watch one or two on my recommendation.  Whatever gets you through the night.

Peace

Leave a Reply

