The COOLEST things about being a “grown-up”

April 28, 2009

I ate chocolate cream pie for breakfast.

And no one said a word about it.  No one says a word when I have yogurt and oatmeal either.  It’s all my decision.  Which ROCKS!

If I decide to skip doing laundry for a week… ain’t nobody’s business if I do.

I spend a lot of money on a particular brand of toilet paper.  I have very specific paper towel requirements.  I like cherry coke and nothing else – no mater what’s on sale.  Shopping when you only have to please yourself is a wondrous experience.

There’s a joy in cooking for yourself too.  Don’t want to eat the leftovers, then don’t.  Want ice cream at 3pm.  Okay.

Want to stay up all night reading?  Wake up at 3pm to have a hot bath and watch the Thin Man for the 100th time?  Whatever floats your boat.

No one gets angry if I keep a movie from Netflix for a month.  No one complains if I listen to the same cd over and over again.

While I was thinking about this I realized this isn’t just about being a grown-up.  It’s also about being single and living alone.  Because I don’t really need to consider other people in the equation for making decisions.  I also don’t have to worry about someone else eating my food, using my stuff, being really pissed off by my actions around the homestead.

There is really something to be said for this level of freedom.

One Response to “The COOLEST things about being a “grown-up””


Leave a Reply

