Thursday is Market Day!

May 7, 2009

I really like Thursdays, also known as Organic Farmers’ Market Day.  It’s not a morning market like the Saturday one on Center Street.  Instead it starts at 3pm and it’s located up at Rose and Shattuck in the Gourmet Ghetto.

It’s a nice, not quite two mile walk from my place to the market.  I usually walk through the neighborhoods but today I walked up Shattuck and window shopped a bit.

There were new fruits and vegetables today.  So I got zucchini and yellow squash instead of potatoes.  I also got a beautiful bunch of radishes.  And I got my half dozen organic, farm fresh eggs.

On the way back I just had to stop at The Cheeseboard for butter, mock boursin and some parm/romano cheese blend.

food

But when I got home, instead of playing with my new toys I decided on that most comfortable of evening meals … breakfast.

So I made a fresh batch of giant buttermilk biscuits…

biscuits

and then scrambled some eggs, cooked some bacon and made some hot chocolate.

breakfast for dinner

***I had a nice conversation with a friend who is driving from San Diego to Portland.  I’m trying to convince her that the East Bay is a lovely place to live.  Especially since my food is here.  And me.***

I hope you all had a good Thursday.

Night.

Leave a Reply

