It gets easier after you learn this one thing…

May 9, 2009

100_1733

I have sadly spent a great deal of my life hip deep in the wailing and gnashing of teeth.  Mostly of my own creation or possibly volition.  There have been a lot of times that I wanted to scream at the top of my lungs that “IT WASN’T SUPPOSED TO BE LIKE THIS!!!”

A few years ago I realized something very important.  It is overwhelmingly egotistical to assume to know what anything is SUPPOSED to be like.

Life is what it is.  And according to Neil Gaiman we all “get what anybody gets, you get a lifetime.”

So take a deep breathe.  Let it out slowly.

Stop and smell the flowers every chance you get.

Look at the sky.

Don’t let preconceived notions about how things should have been or could have been ruin what is probably a really excellent moment.

I’m just saying…

Night

Leave a Reply

