Why yes, I am a geek!

May 18, 2009

I don’t normally go to the movie theater.  I’m cheap that way.  I like my TV.  It’s in my home.  Where my comfy chair and my bathroom are.  Netflix takes care of my movie needs.

But today, I saw Star Trek at the California.

It was AMAZING.  I cried, then I laughed and laughed and laughed.  Then I cried again.  For two hours everything was right in my world and I believed that the future will be amazing.

I think a part of me missed that sense of utopia that Star Trek brings.

I remember watching marathons of the original series on KTVU 36 in Sacramento as a child.  And in high school, after a night shift at Original Pete’s, I would watch a single episode of Next Generation to unwind before bed.  Gene Roddenberry made one of the only bright futures I remember believing in.

I grew up during the cold war.  But I knew Kirk trusted Chekov.  So I knew that if we waited long enough – it would be okay.

J.J. Abrams gave me back a possible utopia.

I loved this movie.  I can’t wait to see it again.  In IMAX.

In the mean time I can’t stop smiling.

Night.

Leave a Reply

