Dear God WHY?

May 25, 2009

So I was up having dinner with Heather and Will last night.  And after dinner we watched the MSNBC marathon of “To Catch a Predator” where an internet watchdog group created a sting to catch men who wanted to have sex with a 13 year old.

First, I would recommend dinner at Heather’s to anyone who has the opportunity.  She is a wonderful cook and her flan is the best I’ve ever had.  Second… my faith in people is hugely shaken by watching this show.  Third – EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Why would ANYONE want to have sex with a 13 year old?  That’s just gross.  I was watching Stephen Fry in America (thank you Clara) and in the episode where Stephen is in Montana he talks with Ted Turner and Ted says “I’ve never understood the appeal of virgins” (you have to watch the show but the line makes PERFECT sense in context).  And I must say, I agree.  So watching these guys trying to get it on with someone they thought was a 13 year old virgin is just CREEPY!!!

But the other IGH factor comes from a class I took in college.  Risk and Reward with McCoun for my Public Policy minor where we looked into the politics and psychological aspects of the risk versus reward equations we deal with every day.  Are the rewards of having sex with a 13 year old virgin REALLY worth the risk?  Ask Dr. Maurice Wolin…. my bet is that now that he’s been caught and is being prosecuted he thinks the risks are bigger than the rewards.  The chance of having sex with an under aged girl versus going to jail and being put on the sexual predators’ list forever.  Let’s think….. ummmm….. NO!

But that’s just me.  And right now, I’m really freaked out by men.  I’m going to go read a romance novel and try to forget about this.

Night.

Leave a Reply

