oh come ON!

May 28, 2009

I will admit that I’m most likely going to go see GI Joe if Clara tells me it’s interesting.  (You’ve got to love having a trust-worthy movie taste-tester.)  And we all know how I feel about Star Trek.  But I’m getting freaked out by the sheer volume of remakes that are going on.  They are rebooting Lara Croft and remaking Nightmare on Elm Street.

For the love of God WHY???  Where did all the screenwriters go?

Part of me understand the need to have a sense of bank-ability.  The movie industry is insanely expensive these days.  It just costs too much money to make a mainstream film that is completely fresh.  What if there are people who don’t like it?  Heaven for-fend.

Now, I don’t really mind a lot of these remakes.  And reboots are great.  I thought Batman turned out well, I’m thrilled to have Star Trek back, and I’m not sure I’m ready to live in a world without some version of James Bond.

I think my issue REALLY started during a conversation with Clara.  I had just watched Transformers (finally) and watched a trailer for GI Joe online.  I think I was the one that made a joke about every TV show being made into a movie.

I

WAS

JOKING

But low and behold.  Smurfs the Movie… John Lithgow is rumored to be involved.

It seemed like every show I looked up … someone was planning on remaking it.

Although I am kind of excited that someone is rebooting Matt Helm.  As much as I enjoyed Dino’s interpretation, I think a new look at that character could be good.

I do not think I need to see CHiPs the movie OR Good Times.  There’s a time and a place for everything and some of those times and places are far in the past.  Really – do we need a He-Man movie at this point in our lives?  Is this what’s been missing all this time?

I can’t deal with this anymore.

Night.

Leave a Reply

