It’s either cute or horrifying

July 8, 2009

And I’m leaning towards horrifying.

Yesterday I was walking through campus to go to the BART station.  As I walked through Sproul Plaza, I watched a very young adult lead a pack of small children through the plaza ahead of me.  This young adult would say something and the small children would repeat it at the top of their lungs.  They had banners, but I didn’t get a chance to read them.

So it looked like a little protest and how adorable is that?

That was sarcasm by the way.

I don’t think protests should be made for fun.  I think that protests should be strong and real and thought out and important.  They have lost a lot of their power in my opinion, at least in Berkeley.

So a guys says “SpongeBob for President” and the kids shout it back.  Over and over.  Then the guy says “Down with broccoli” and the kids shout it back.  There were  a few more but I tried to block them out.

Some people would think this is adorable.  Oh look at the kids and their little protest.  How cute.

But what I saw was a group of people who would blindly shout out whatever they were told to repeat.  They didn’t know what it meant or why.  They just shouted it.

To me – it was cult like.  And wrong.

Kids can be cute.  And kids can give you a completely different view of the world.  But rounding them up and getting them to repeat things just to be funny is wrong.

If you want kids to repeat things then try Row Row Row Your Boat or Frere Jacques.  I wouldn’t recommend It’s A Small World but that’s up to you.

Now I have a headache from thinking about this again.

Better living through chemicals.

Night.

4 Responses to “It’s either cute or horrifying”

  1. Elaine Says:

    Yeah, I have a little bit of trouble with the concept of bringing kids to rally’s and such. I’m totally OK if you’re intent is to allow them to see democracy in action, especially if the issue affects them directly (for instance, kids who’s parents could have been forcibly divorced). But in general, I think you have to be very careful to not push your politics into children hands before they can really have an opinion about it.

    But that can be difficult for so many…

    • eruditeslacker Says:

      I’m actually okay with parents bringing kids and exposing them to “life” for lack of a better term. I do hope for discussion but … that’s a family thing. My issue is that it’s not the same to just tell kids to shout something because it’s cute. No one was explaining anything to these kids. They were just being used for entertainment by the giggling tour guide. Well… that’s all I saw.

  2. Elaine Says:

    OH, well I have no problem with that. If we can’t use children for amusement, then why did I have to push them out my girly bits?


Leave a Reply

