I like giving them… just not figuring out what to give.

July 9, 2009

So there are a few birthdays coming up in my world.

One is my stepmom.  Now really, she’ll tell you that I don’t need to give her anything and usually I can’t come up with anything so I just send a couple of cards.  But it SUCKS!  I should give her something.  She got me when I was like 15 years old and I was not pleasant to say the least.  In college when I didn’t budget right and my Dad was pissed, she would pass me a hundred dollar bill to make it through.  This woman DESERVES a gift.  I can just never figure out what to get her.  But the last time I saw her, she said something about something and bingo bango … I have a gift this year.  I’m so flipping proud of myself.

Another is Mr Duncan.  I heart Mr Duncan because he keeps Allyn happy.  And according to the beginning of our friendship just as long as she stays happy, I stay happy.  So Duncan is the bestest.

Also – he takes us out to dinner.

He’s done it two or three times now.

He doesn’t make a big deal out of it or anything but he pays for it all.  And he doesn’t make you feel bad about the fact that he can do it.  ((I can’t right now.  I used to be able to do that, back when I thought credit cards would magically pay themselves off.  But I learned better… but that’s another post.))

So I heart Mr Duncan even though I kind of got him as a friend only by proxy.

His birthday is coming up next week.  And in conversation I came across something to get HIM.  That I could afford, and get to and send off in a timely manner.  SCORE!!!

This is like being touched by the hand of GOD!  I NEVER know what to get people.  Well… Clara always likes to get a bag… I think she’s getting another backpack this year.  But other than that, I have such a hard time thinking of a great gift.  Something that they will LOVE but that won’t just take up space.

Ugh.

I should go back to just giving caramel and fudge.

Night.

One Response to “I like giving them… just not figuring out what to give.”

  1. Elaine Says:

    Mr Duncan is good people. Glad you found a suitable gifty!


Leave a Reply

