Completely out of step and totally okay with that

July 23, 2009

Duncan sent this email about all the things that your kids may never know about.  Things like the scream of a modem and the fact that once upon a time there were things like CRT televisions, static between radio station and betamax / vhs / 8 track / cassette tapes… stuff like that.

I will admit to being a little sad to see minidiscs on the list.  I love my minidisc player.  But I know that no one else knows what it is and everyone is a little confused by the little discs that pop out of it.  None of this phases me.  I just got a new gumstick battery for mine.  I’m going to use it until it falls apart then I’ll try and find another one.

The things that really got to me were things like:

45. Not knowing exactly what all of your friends are doing and thinking at every moment.

46. Carrying on a correspondence with real letters, especially the handwritten kind.

51. The fact that words generally don’t have num8er5 in them.

52. Correct spelling of phrases, rather than TLAs.

64. Answering machines.

72. Not knowing who was calling you on the phone.

Each of these points is something I go against.  My home phone is a land line, the phone has no caller id and it has an answering machine.  It’s a good thing I’m rude by nature because I always pick up the phone.  If I don’t want to stay on the phone, I’ll tell you.

I can still and do diagram sentences in my head and while I have never been the best speller I do not cheat and shorten words merely for expediency sake.  It helps that I have not enabled the texting feature on my cell phone and know how to type.

I send thank you cards from time to time and have on more than one occasion send a thank you card for a thank you card.  Yes, I’m obnoxious.  Are you just figuring that out?

But it’s the ubiquitous sharing of every single thought that just sets my teeth on edge.  I deleted the MySpace page I created ages ago and never used because it got linked to SPOCK and I really didn’t want to be found like that.  My Facebook page is under my business name instead of my name because really I don’t want to be found.  Even this blog doesn’t have my name associated with it.

As far as I’m concerned social networking is a party at Allyn’s.

I know people who post every single thought that pops into their head.  I know what they had for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I don’t need that level of information about even my very best friend.  And reading about someone’s day isn’t the same as communicating with them.

I thought about deleting my facebook account.  I don’t really use it and it’s not my favorite way to interact with people.  But I know two people that I really like who have very small children.  Facebook is the best way to know how they are doing.  Other than that, I can pick up a phone.

I really am a dinosaur.

Night.

p.s. I understand the irony of taking this stance and then writing about it in a blog but hey, that’s life.

2 Responses to “Completely out of step and totally okay with that”

  1. Clara Says:

    May I interest you in some minidisc cases? 🙂

    • eruditeslacker Says:

      My mother knit me a pink Fair Isle bag for my mini-discs… because my mommy loves me and wants me to be happy. But thanks for the offer.


Leave a Reply

