Unexpected Courtesy

July 24, 2009

I am very rarely in a great hurry for anything.  Maybe it’s because I’m such a planner.  Maybe life just works out that way for me.  Maybe I just don’t care enough to rush, rush, rush.  Life happens at it’s own pace.

Or as Mahatma Gandhi once said, “There is more to life than increasing it’s speed.”

So when I am at a residential intersection and there is a car stopped at the line, most likely I will wave them through first before I cross.  They get through quickly and then I’m back on my way.  They seem happy about it and it really doesn’t impact me that much.

Another thing I do is that if I am in line at the grocery store and the person behind me has 5 items or less or if they have a baby… I let them jump in front of me.  It’s not a big deal to me and it makes there life a little better for a moment.

Today that happened to me.  I went to Berkeley Bowl to get fixing for spinach dip because I felt the need for spinach dip tomorrow.  In my basket I had a bunch of fresh spinach, green onions, mayo, sour cream and the handmade style corn tortillas because I had to have them.  I was behind a guy who had a medium sized cart of groceries.

Simple as can be he turned and looked at my hand held basket of stuff and said, “Please go in front of me.”

I tried to say that I didn’t mind.  But he insisted.

It was nice.

I hope people feel this way when I do the same thing for them.

Night.

Leave a Reply

