Apartment / Patio Composting

July 28, 2009

Here goes nothing.  I’m going to try composting on the patio.  It should be interesting if nothing else.

I got the garbage can yesterday.

Compost Bin 1

I took my little cordless drill (I dream of a Makita and tell myself … someday) and started drilling holes in the bottom.  Turns out that compost needs to breathe.  You don’t want the holes really big, it’s for air flow not anything else going in or out.

Compost Bin 2

after a little creative insanity this is what the bottom looks like…

Compost Bin 3

The trick with drilling (I saw one plan that said to use a hammer and a nail) is that you have to go all the way in and all the way out.  Not to make the hole but to get rid of all the curly plastic bits from making the hole.

Then I worked on the sides.

Compost Bin 4and finally the lid…

Compost Bin 5

Now there are TONS of websites that tell you all the layering techniques for compost.  Ratios of brown to green.  Maybe we haven’t meet but I’m much too lazy for that.  I threw together some dirt, a lot of leaves, some kitchen refuse.  Somehow there were worms already in the leaves that were decomposing on my patio already.  I don’t know how that happened.  It’s a concrete patio, surrounded by a cinder block wall… did the worms drop from the sky?  (If you are interested – Here’s a list of all the things that you can compost.)

So I threw all that in and then I rolled the bin around for a while.  I sprinkled it with some water….

Here’s an ugly picture…

Compost Bin 6

Then I put the lid on, bungee corded it down (take that you squirrelly menace!) and put it on top of some plastic shelves I have so it can drain a bit.  Yes I could have gotten a tub to catch the “compost tea” but let’s be honest… I wouldn’t have kept up with it so it would be pointless.

And there you have it.

Compost Bin 7

In a few months, I’ll let you know if it worked.  If not… I don’t know what I’ll do.

Night.

Leave a Reply

