Temporary Screen-door Hack

August 12, 2009

This has got to be my best idea in AGES!

Since it’s been hot and will most likely stay hot for a few more months, I’ve acknowledged that I’m going to need to keep the front door and the back door open for a while.  The back door has a screen-door already but the front door does not.  It just opens out into the open hallway.  Great for breezes but there are flies.  I don’t really like flies.

I looked on-line for a non-permanent screen door but nothing looked like it was worth the shipping charges, let alone the actual price.  And there was nothing in the local stores.

Then I had an idea.  I went to the nearest hardware store and I picked up a tension rod (28-48 inches).

tension rod

I dug through the fabric and found one of the mosquito net curtains that Steve gave me a while ago and I tied the curtain to the tension rod and hung it from the open front door.

door

I safety pinned some bells to the bottom for weight and a little noise if the curtain is moved.

bells

It’s simple.  It’s basic.  And it WORKS!

Genius!  Why, oh WHY did I not think of this sooner?

I’m going to go enjoy the breeze.

Night.

Leave a Reply

