Wants and Needs

August 22, 2009

There’s an article in the September 2009 issue of Good Housekeeping that profiles a family that stopped buying anything that wasn’t edible or depletable.  And I must say – it was an interesting article.

Because of the economy a lot of people are forced into belt tightening and it might hurt more because it wasn’t a choice, it was something they HAD to do.  But when you get right down to it, a lot of use buy things that don’t make us happy except for the split second when we buy it.

I love this war time propaganda… and doesn’t it make so much sense in today’s debt crazy world…

vinatge_advertising

Personally – I like having things.  They give me comfort.  But it turns out I have a critical mass.  And I seem to have hit it about 8 years ago.  I stopped buying excessively, purged A TON of clothes and shoes, etc.  I’m still selling books.  But really – the constant shopping has morphed into a slow, steady fresh food shopping thing.  What veg am I going to eat tonight?  (Tonight was impossibly green dino kale.)

While I was thinking about all these things I decided to go find a sign that was mentioned in the article…

Amasa13 - flickr

Finding this image, an update of my favorite Keep Calm and Carry On, let me to a few other searches that led me to this fascinating article that tells of the fact that without a couple of awesome booksellers we never would have found out about this wonderful slogan / sign.

And while I love the concept and the comfort of Keep Calm and Carry On (I use it as my profile picture on Facebook.)… I can’t help but think I’m a little more in-line with some of the reboots of the sign, like the one above and the related one below.

Get Excited and Make Things

Any way you slice it, these signs and slogans are a call to look at things a different way.  Rethink the status quo.

I must say, I enjoy myself much more now that I’ve realigned myself to my own wants and needs instead of trying to fit the wants and needs that advertisers thought I should have.

And now a glass of wine and Gorky Park.

Night.

Leave a Reply

