Variegations of Human Contact

August 27, 2009

Interesting day today.

I started to feel a tad isolated so I wandered out into the world.

First I talked to my mail lady.  She’s a peach.  She’s very consistent about the mail and really cares about her route.  I thought she had been on vacation because last week there was a day when the mail didn’t get delivered until after 5pm.  She usually has our mail in the boxes by 12 noon.  She said it must have been her day off but that she would be on vacation next week.  She told me not to worry.  She would be back even though they had changed all the routes around.  She fought to keep us.  I told her I was glad.  Because she really is a good mail lady.  It was nice to talk to her.

As I went out for errands I noticed that the students (who returned for classes this week) still don’t have any sense of sharing the road.  At an intersection without a light the students just walk constantly.  Which means that the cars just sit until there are no more students.  Sharing is caring kids… show a little empathy.  Remember when it was you driving the car?

Walking onto campus I saw a parked car with the license plate “Chetin'” – on a college campus.  Parked right outside the UC Police Department.  I stared a bit.  Turns out the owner of the car was talking to a friend who was a cop and noticed me looking.  I asked about the plates because I saw Cheating… but really it was Chet and Tina.  They’ve been together for 15 years.  Congratulations to Chet and Tina.  Chet was a very fun guy and very, very kind to talk to a girl with a parasol staring at his car.

A little farther along I saw a girl sitting in the shade on the steps.  She was smoking a cigarette.  I noticed her necklace.  Single strand, amber chips.  Of course I LOVED it.  So I told her.  I’m a big fan of telling people if they look fabulous, are having a good hair day, have stunning jewelry, etc.  Reinforce good behavior.

When I told her that I loved her necklace, she told me she made it herself.  She then said that I had made her day better.  It started out good and then got too intense, then I complimented her necklace and made it better.  How cool is that?

I went to Ace Hardware to get coffee filters for Clara and look for nails, deck screws, wood screws, washers and nuts… I’m a girl who loves her projects.  I ran into problems at the checkout counter.  Berkeley Ace is a small store and it turns out they really don’t care about inventory because instead of wanting the item numbers for individual screws and bolts.  They just want to price.  It would be good to know that when you’re pulling your items.  Maybe I just missed the big sign that says – tell us the price at the register… but I doubt it.  So I had to go and get the prices.  Then when I was leaving someone almost bumped into me…  I try to be understanding of my personal space but when someone runs around behind me… why do I have to be the only one to apologize?  Argh.

Moody moody moody…. need something good to happen.

My mom sent me a package.  I needed to pick it up.  Long line.  But I like the ladies of the main post office.  They aren’t bad folks.  And I refuse to get pissy with them.  I wished someone would come take all the package slips to clear the lines but what can you do.

Then a man from the crowd flagged a guy behind the counter and asked him to get his package and he did.  The guy behind the counter wasn’t at a register, he was from the back of house.  I told the man who flagged him that he had a great idea.  I waited until the man came back and did the scanning necessary to hand over the package.  He said he needed to go deal with a truck but I asked as nicely as I could if he would do me a favor and please get my package.  Without so much as a grumble he did.  Let’s hear it for taking advantage of a situation and being unfailingly polite about it.

I was searching for dish protectors for Clara – there weren’t any in the new CVS Pharmacy but I picked up an Arizona Tea.  They cost 99 cents.  The cashier rung the tea up twice, didn’t notice – I had to point it out, I paid with a 10 and 10 cents (crv etc).  The cashier typed in $1.10 and then couldn’t do the math to make change.  I had to tell her.  She didn’t give me my receipt, I had to ask for it.  She said she was sorry and I said it was fine.  It was fine.  I just wish that people who aren’t good with registers didn’t have to work with them.

Couldn’t find the dish protectors but I stopped at Berkeley Bowl since I was near there.  I picked up berries and bananas, grapefruit, green beans and an avocado.  In line there was a mother with two small kids in front of me.  The kids were very demanding.  All I could think was that my mother would not have tolerated that kind of behavior.  Then I realized that she would have made sure we KNEW that behavior like that would NOT be tolerated.  By the time my fruit and veg were rung up I was more sick of kids than I’ve been in ages.  The clerk mentioned to another clerk that he needed to be paid more money.  I said that he deserved to be paid more.  I think we already went over the fact that I’m rotten.  I would like to say, in my own defense, that there are kids that I adore.  RJ and Emberly… I hear the most delightful stories about Anya and Lily.  I don’t hate kids, I don’t think all mom’s have lost their minds but there are times when… ARGH!

Home at last.  Mom called and we talked about 1950’s TV and Netflix and knitting patterns.

All in all… positive human contact outweighs negative.  It usually does.

Night.

One Response to “Variegations of Human Contact”

  1. aśka Says:

    I liked this. You did have a lot of positive human contact. I used to do a stupid thing. I started conversations with smokers(who usually gathered outside of any building entrances) and I would try to change their ways. I would try to joke/preach about the dangers of smoking. I know- that’s horrible. That was a very negative approach to humans. I learned since then. 🙂


Leave a Reply

