Hang up your coat and stay awhile…

September 3, 2009

When I was contemplating more projects to create with vinyl tiles I decided to make a coat rack for the hall way.  I thought I would take some wood, cover it with tiles, attach hook to it and then attach the whole thing to the wall.

Simple, right?

Sort of.

100_3462First I had to find hooks…  I wanted something interesting.  I found these online but when they arrived they had some kind of faux rust powder coat, so I painted them black.

100_3468yes – let’s just say it… hooks are phallic… moving on.

Will gave me some 2x4s and then later told me that they aren’t really 2 inches by 4 inches.  Good to know.  And I had wood leftover from the broken cd shelves.  So I made a support for the skin of birch plywood…

100_3489

Then I lay down my new vinyl tiles on top of the birch ply.

100_3492

Now I used the right product for this kind of thing… contact cement.  But I think my tiles were too thin because no matter how much pressure I put on the whole thing the edges kept coming up.

So I just nailed them down.

If I were to do this again I would lay out the tiles and duck tape them together from the back and then attach the whole thing as a single piece.  Live and learn.

100_3501

I tried to figure out the best placement for the hooks – keeping them in line with the support on the back.

100_3503

Thank goodness Will had better power tools than I have – he helped make sure the rack was securely fastened to the wall.

100_3529

All in all – it’s a fun project.  I would have done a few things differently if I had more tools but considering that I was just working with what I had – I think it turned out very well.

100_3531

Night.

Leave a Reply

