I never was any good at follow the leader…

September 4, 2009

I’ve been sewing for about 3 years now but I never use patterns … not real sewing patterns.  I’m very good at making boxes and anything I can really visualize I can make work.  But every time I look at a sewing pattern for clothes I just can’t decipher what I’m supposed to do.  I can’t break the code.

But today I decided I really wanted to try to make a retro hostess apron.  I had the pattern.  And I had fabric that I would not weep over destroying if I couldn’t make it work.

Shockingly – it worked.

It took ALL day with breaks so my brain wouldn’t overheat but it worked.

100_3532

Not a great picture but what do you expect?

Here’s the torturous pattern…

100_3537100_3536

I think the best part of making things yourself is that you can pick all the bits and pieces.  I’m sure others would pick a bright rickrack to use with the double sides hem tape but for me… black on black on a black background fabric is my aesthetic.

I’m glad it’s done.  I’m very VERY proud of myself.

I might try another pattern and see what happens but I will definitely stay with the easy patterns for now.

Night.

Leave a Reply

