Don’t ask me, I don’t understand it either

September 10, 2009

I suck at computer games.  I just can’t deal with the hand-eye coordination.  I can do puzzle games but that’s it.

Strangely this does not diminish my love of certain computer games.  I actually own a copy of American McGee’s Alice.  It’s not loaded on my computer but I own it.  I also have 4 of the action figurines.  Still in the box.  I really liked the concept, story and art.

McGees_Alice_L

And now I’ve found a new game to obsess over.  Never going to play it, don’t see the point in buying it but I am HOOKED.

Bioshock

This may be the first First Person Shooter game that gets a few people to read Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged.  How crazy is that?

So in case you’ve never heard of it before Bioshock is a game that takes place in a sunken city in the Atlantic and deals with genetic mutations.  That is a VERY loose summary but hey, if you want to know more… follow the links.  Here’s another one.

The game is rocking this decayed art deco / steam-punk vibe.

bioshock23bioshock30

Bioshock 2 is coming out at the end of October.

Here’s some art that Jhonen Vasquez did for it.

thesisters

And John Shirley is writing a Bioshock book.  Yes, I plan on reading it.

And there maybe a movie based on the first Bioshock that may or may not star Wentworth Miller.  And I’ll probably go see this too.

But I won’t buy the game.  Because I’m not going to play it.

Makes sense, right?

Night.

Leave a Reply

