An odd form of trendspotting

September 11, 2009

I went to the library today.  I was in the area checking my post office box and just decided to look at sewing books.

After my realization that I could actually follow a pattern I thought it might be a good idea to learn more about sewing.

Turns out I am not the only person who has had this thought.  The sewing section decimated.  I checked the computer for books under the keyword sewing.  Lots of entries… most had a due back by date.  Not just in the Central Library but in all the branches.  And it’s not as if they don’t have a bunch of sewing books they do… but they are checked out.

Now maybe it’s just one person hording all the sewing books but I don’t think so.

I think that people are learning to sew more than before.  This could be the signs of a trend.  Maybe people who caught the knitting bug are expanding.  Maybe people are scared of fashion trends.  (I know I am… shoulder pads are coming back.  They are already on the runway.)

I can’t wait to see where this goes.  Sewing going mainstream.  A lot of people have always sewn, but if it reaches the levels that knitting has achieved… that’s going to be so amazing.

And in the mean time I’m off to read Vogue Sewing.

Night.

Leave a Reply

