turns out I didn’t want a burger

September 18, 2009

So I spent about 2 hours today wondering if I wanted an In-n-Out burger or not.

In-N-Out burger

It’s an odd conundrum brought about by this article.

It got me thinking about the burgers of my past.  I used to eat cheeseburgers at Raleigh’s (which has changed owners and names to Manny’s Tap Room – I’d be upset by this except I haven’t been a regular in ages and Manny use to be one of my bartenders so… all in the family).

raleighs-01

I stopped eating my burgers at Raleigh’s when they stopped cooking the fries extra crispy even though I kept requesting them.  Oh well.  Onward.

Then I ate at the Smokehouse every Friday on the way home from working at the auto body shop… yeah, you read that right.

smokehouse

Then I stopped working there and started working weekends at Williams Sonoma in Bay Street which meant Fuddrucker Burgers.  Dave and Clara used to drive me to Pinole for In-N-Out before the Oakland one opened.  I’ve eaten my last 2 In-N-Out burgers on Fisherman’s Wharf and they have not been great.

Then I realized something fabulous.

My very favorite of all the burgers is actually the Bongo Burger with their fried onions and their crinkle cut fries.  And best of all?  It’s just up the street.

bongo burger

But after all this thinking about burgers I decided I didn’t want one today.  So I just made hash browns with half a small onion and a medium yukon gold potato.  I added Parmesan cheese at the end.

Now I’m watching the insane Delilah and Julius on Netflix.

Night.

4 Responses to “turns out I didn’t want a burger”

  1. Tina C. Says:

    I wanted to leave this on your anvil post, but I didn’t see a place to do so. I had a thought that you might try someplace that sell jewelry-making supplies and, if you haven’t found one already, I found a site:
    http://www.ottofrei.com/store/home.php?cat=3310 and they are located in the Bay Area:
    Main Office & Warehouse
    Counter hours: Monday-Friday, 8:30am-12:30pm & 1:30pm-5:00pm
    126 2nd Street
    Oakland, California 94607
    In the historic Jack London Square warehouse district.
    6 blocks from the Lake Merrit Bart Station.
    2 blocks from the 980/880 freeway.

    Branch Office
    Counter hours: Monday-Friday, 9am-5:00pm
    760 Market Street, Room # 905
    San Francisco, California 94102
    In the historic Phelan Building, right next door to the Revere Academy of Jewelry Arts.
    The northeastern exit to the Powell Street Bart Station is steps away from 760 Market Street.

    ~Tina (from SBTB site)

  2. Tina C. Says:

    Okay, just realized that all I had to do was to click on the title of the anvil post. Sorry 😦

    • eruditeslacker Says:

      I just figured that out too… for a second I thought I’d messed up the post. I’m going to try to stay local to buy but I will check out jewelry supply shops. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

