A Fine Public Service Announcement

September 28, 2009

I was talking to Allyn last night and the topic of conversation floated to the term “fine”…. I commented that if a guy says “it’s fine” then you can kind of take it at face value.  But the more the phrase is repeated the less likely it is to be true.

And if you hear “It’s fine, it’s fine, it’s totally fine” then you should also hear a siren and see a big, red, neon sign that says WARNING.  Somehow the more you repeat the word fine the worse things actually are.

This is mostly seen in men.  I don’t know why.  I think it’s a Monty Python thing.  “It’s just a flesh wound” and all that.

Monty Python Flesh Wound

According to Allyn the flashing lights and sirens should also sound with the words “It’ll be fine.”  (i.e. Yes I can parallel park the SUV in a compact spot… It’ll be fine.  OR We don’t need to call the restaurant to see if they are open on Christmas.  We’ll just go, it’ll be fine.)  This is true for both men and women.  It’s a phrase that should totally come with a loud clap of thunder and multiple lightning strikes.

Consider this your public service announcement.

Do your own study.  But my bet is that Allyn and I are right.

Watch out, or it’ll all be fine.

Night.

2 Responses to “A Fine Public Service Announcement”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Anthony ALWAYS assumes when I say, “it’s fine”, that it’s not, and I’m annoyed at him. 🙂 Which is kind of funny, because usually, I do just mean it’s fine, nothing else intended . 😀


Leave a Reply

