Cooking for one… really?

October 2, 2009

I’ve seen a few cookbooks recently that are specifically for people who want to cook for one or two people.  On the face of it they sound like a great idea.  But honestly – I don’t think it’s for me.

I like eating my own cooking.  I’m a fussy eater and if I cook I can control the food.

I make my own pizza because I don’t like sauce.  It works really well.  Super crispy thin crust, fresh mozzarella with grated Parmesan around the edge, then maybe caramelized onions and fried pancetta or just pepperoni.  Pizza according to me.

Or I’ll make a huge batch of something and eat it until it’s gone or more likely use my vacuum seal system (given to me by the dearly missed Robert Murney) to store individual portions in the freezer until I want to eat it again.

But look at these books… they look cool!

The Pleasures of Cooking for OneThe Pleasure is All Mine

Going Solo in the Kitchen

But there are two problems with my buying one of these books.  One – I think cooking for one just seems weird…. What I really need to do is start cooking for four instead of eight or twelve.  And two – there is just no room for anymore cookbooks (except for Ratio by Michael Ruhlman, which I hope Santa give me for Christmas)… and I don’t want to get rid of any of the ones I have now.

What’s a girl to do?

Night

Leave a Reply

