I’m just not

October 5, 2009

It started with an email from Tony.  And suddenly I realized that while most of my friends are very competitive (to the point of playing tennis with a broken toe… I’m looking at you Ally!); I’m just not.  I don’t go in for scores.  And winners vs losers really seem sad to me.

My philosophy is that we are all in this together.  So making someone the loser so someone else can be the winner doesn’t really lead towards a helpful, sharing community feeling.  (Strangely I am NOT in favor of giving everyone a trophy.  If you are going to play sports you need to understand that there are going to be winners and there are going to be losers… it’s how we can bet on college sports at the office?)

I get why competition works and how it can motivate people.  I just don’t think it’s as necessary as people make it – not EVERYTHING needs to be a competition.  But then I’m not competitive so what do I know?

The thing is that I never thought about it.  It never occurred to me that I’m not competitive.  I can fake it but it’s never a driving force in my life.

When I told a few people this they just blinked at me a few times and told me that they’ve ALWAYS know this and I’m a little slow catching up.

I must say … the Rat Race look a great deal like a parade when you watch from the sidelines.  I recommend it, if it’s in your nature.

Night.

Leave a Reply

