The end of Gourmet

October 6, 2009

So, news came out this week that Conte Nast is going to stop printing Gourmet Magazine with the November issue.

This is the end of an era.  But I’m not sure it’s a horrible loss.

That I think this isn’t shocking.  That I got my mother to agree… that’s a shock.

When I read the news about the end of the magazine that so many of us have back issues of… sitting in a closet, waiting for someone to try a recipe from… which is funny, considering that all the recipes are on epicurious.com now.

But then I thought about all my lovely food blogs.  Blogs written by real people who have kitchens at least kind of like mine.  I get so much more joy from reading The Bitten Word and Sticky Gooey Creamy Chewy and The Homesick Texan.  These bloggers are like me, real people with real lives and real-ish jobs.

As much as I want to travel like the people who write / wrote for Gourmet… the reality of the situation is that the new few vacations I take won’t be to Paris or Rome… they will be to Portland to visit Ally or Maui to visit Mahea or Miami to finally visit Manny and Franny.  There’s nothing wrong with that but it does show the difference between Gourmet magazine and my life.

I guess I’m not the only person to feel this way.

The world has changed.

Gourmet didn’t keep up with the rest of us.

It’s sad, but it’s not the end of the world.

Night.

Leave a Reply

