No, Just No

October 26, 2009

I’d love to write a blithe, pithy, uplifting post for you to enjoy but I can’t.  I can’t because my brain has been derailed by this article.

Now I really like Broadway musicals.  I find them to be very enjoyable.  And apparently I don’t have anything against Hollywood films being made into Broadway musicals because I’m really hoping that the touring company of 9 to 5 swings by my neck of the woods.

That being said… COCKTAIL THE MUSICAL?

Are you really telling me that you can’t come up with anything better than that?

Really?

Okay – let’s walk away from the “can’t you think of something new” and try a different line of reason.

Do you HONESTLY believe that this will make money?  That it has the legs to run on Broadway for the 4 plus years it would take to break even?  Yes – I know – it sucks but that’s Broadway.  You want to try something experimental then go off-Broadway or leave New York.  It can be done but it takes work.

I can’t even get past the idea that someone is sinking money into Cocktail: the Musical.

Does this mean we can pick any 1980’s movie we want and have someone make it into a musical?

Hmmm… now that’s an idea.  What would be fun?  What would be fabulous…

The Abyss … the Musical!

Now that I’d look forward to.

Night

Leave a Reply

