Does the term “too little too late” mean anything to you?

November 6, 2009

I was in a market research study yesterday.  It was for technology and communications.

I thought – this could be interesting…. and guess what, it was… kind of.

To start with I was just about on time even though I should have been 15 minutes early.  Oh well, at least there were sandwiches.  I like how they get Specialties Sandwiches for these things.

There were two groups simultaneously – my group had one other female and 4 males.  Our moderator asked us a few questions and then we went into the room.

I got a peek at the notes and found out that this research was for Windows Messenger Live.

All I could think was… really?  Seriously?  Good luck.

Mostly the discussion was about instant messengering and social networks.  Turns out I’m not alone – most of the group had migrated off MySpace and onto Facebook because MySpace had become too “sparkly”.  But I was alone as the only person in the room not to text constantly.  And I was also the only person in the room who didn’t web-enable their smart phone.

I’m sorry but I just don’t need to be that connected.

Anyway – on with their product.  Microsoft wants a piece of the chat action AND the social network action.  To which I say “more power to you” and “are you seriously trying to enter this game NOW?”

The prototypes they have are very nice but I question the logistics … which you can’t do during market research.  You just have to accept that they can do what they say they can do.

But I don’t think people want ANOTHER email.  If you could just log into this new program on a web-page that would be worthwhile… maybe.

One of the things they want to do is pull feeds from MySpace and Facebook which I’m thinking that these companies don’t want this to happen.  It would pull people from their webpages and advertisers.  Besides – why get a new social network when you have so many of them now?

There was a break and when the moderator went out – every single person in the room (other than me) pulled out there phone and started typing.  I don’t even have that feature enabled.  Yeah – I’m old.

All in all… I have learned that I really don’t use social networks as much as everyone else in the world.  I don’t text and that makes me a bit of a dinosaur.  And most importantly, I’m okay with all of this.  Most importantly I can’t imagine Microsoft creating something that could take over from the people on the playing field right now.  Google’s got WAVE, Facebook is still Facebook, and Microsoft doesn’t have anything yet.  All I can think is good luck fellows.

That’s enough typing for today.

Night.

Leave a Reply

