Dealing with cannibalized parts

November 9, 2009

So I told you about skinning the sofa; and packing up the springs and a big bag of horsehair.  Once I got them home I had to deal with them.

100_4074100_4081

I wasn’t going to use them.  I do NOT need to take up upholstery.  I don’t have room for it.  So I needed to find someone to take the springs and stuffing.  Someone who would use them.  Someone who knew how to use them.

I posted a free ad on Craiglist.  I didn’t want to charge for the items.  So I didn’t.  But I did ask questions from the people who responded. The first person said he sofa was sagging and he wanted to fix it.  He said he was handy and didn’t think it would be a problem.  (I don’t think he had looked up the construction of a sofa because it’s NOT that easy.)  The next person wanted to use the springs in an art project.  I was cool with that but she changed her mind.

That was the first posting of the springs and stuffing.

The second posting wasn’t up for more than an hour when I got an email from Liz.

Liz had been trying to buy horsehair but couldn’t find any.  And she had some upholstery projects that could use springs.  Heck she could FIND projects to use these items.

This was the person I had been waiting for… just the right person.  We talked for a good long while.  She asked what I was going to do with the “pelt” and I told her about my bags.  She offered me some extra fabric she had laying about.  I was delighted.

I took down the post and waited for Liz to let me know when she would be in the area.

Saturday she arrived.  I handed off the 2 LARGE garbage bags of springs and 1 large kitchen trash bag of horsehair and she gave me her “leftover” fabric.

100_4124

What a very, very, very happy ending.

Night.

One Response to “Dealing with cannibalized parts”

  1. Clara Says:

    The orange fabric looks stunning.


Leave a Reply

