I know they are trying to be helpful

December 3, 2009

I’m sorry but I do not want to see another Gift Guide.  It’s like the catalogs that have suddenly shown up in my mailbox.

Maybe that’s a bit bah humbug or at the very least hypocritical since I actually really like getting gifts (at least really well thought out gifts) but I’m tired of being told buy this and this and this and this.

Not that the lists aren’t cool.

BoingBoing did 6 posts on gifts most of which focused on books.  Design Sponge did a ton of groupings by dollar amount.

Make and Craft both have things you could make instead of buy.

Great… fabulous…  I’m done.  Do we need a million and one gift ideas?  If you really don’t know what to get someone, here’s an idea… why don’t you ask?

Surprises are overrated.  Personally I can’t stand them.

That’s for letting me get that out of my system.  I’m good now.

Night.

Leave a Reply

