The Nog to end all Nogs

December 7, 2009

I made a batch of my Dad’s eggnog tonight.  It’s massive alcoholic stuff.  Truly the nog to end all nogs.  It takes a week to “cure” but I think I have enough of the last batch to stretch until it is ready to go.

Here’s the recipe:

John’s KILLER Egg Nog

8 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 pint heavy cream, beaten
1 quart milk
2 cups bourbon
1/2 cup rum
nutmeg

Separate the eggs, beat the whites until stiff then beat in the sugar.  Beat the egg yolks.  Combine the two egg mixtures and blend thoroughly.  Add the beaten heavy cream, milk and bourbon; beat well.  Add the rum.  store in a covered jar in a cool place for at least a week before serving.

Now I actually don’t follow the directions.  (not a single one of the three of you who read this are surprised by that)

I split the recipe because I don’t have anything big enough to mix the whole recipe in or store it in.

I dump the booze and the milk at the bottom of the pitchers.

Then I separate 4 of the eggs.  Beat the whites, add the sugar, at the yolks.  Dump into a pitcher and then repeat with the other 4 eggs.

Then I whipped the whip cream in batches and dumped that into the pitchers.

Mix everything together with a big spoon and then into the fridge until it’s time to drink.  Personally I age it longer than dear old Dad.  I like a minimum of 3 weeks.  But I’ll sink into this stuff one Christmas Eve.

So there it is.  The nog to end all nogs.  Dad’s best brew.  Or… the holidays in a glass.

Night

Leave a Reply

