in search of a look

February 20, 2010

I think this concept of a look or at least a guiding aesthetic has been floating around in my subconscious for a while but it really came to the front of my brain when Peter started talking about it on his blog.

What with the dressing like a grown up and starting pilates I’ve really been thinking about how I present myself to the universe.

I’m not trying to impress anyone but I would like to at least look good if only for my own self awareness.

This morning as I went about my errands I tried to classify my own look and realized it’s a series of concepts warring with one another.

You’ve got Mod Retro Chic duking it out with Bohemian college slob.

Californian yoga nerd fighting the good fight against L.L. Bean preppy with a touch of 80’s Gap.

I don’t have a style icon which is a damn good thing because most of the standards look NOTHING LIKE ME!  What’s the point of wanting to look like someone who’s body type doesn’t match yours.  It’s just going to be a disappointment for everyone.

This whole look thing has become a little more focused by the idea I have in my head that because I have a sewing machine I should try to make some clothes for myself.

Which means I need to pick patterns and then fabrics to use with those patterns to make clothes that I might actually wear.

This should be interesting.

When you buy clothing you are presented with pre-made choices and you decided to buy or not to buy.  Now I have to pick the style, the cloth, EVERYTHING!  Oh the humanity!

Right now I’m just thinking about sewing, I’m not actually doing anything.

But that doesn’t stop me from looking at patterns and thinking…. ummmm no.  yeah, no.

Who knows, it might all work out.

Or I might decided that I was right last year when I decided my dream outfit was a v-neck wool sweater, black yoga pants and J Crew flip-flops.

night

Leave a Reply

