learning by way of egregious mistakes

February 23, 2010

So I’m teaching myself to sew clothes… and as is my fashion I’m teaching myself by slowly working my way through some projects and allowing myself to make really dumb mistakes along the way.

The first thing I made was a cocktail apron.  I had some problems figuring out the pattern but in the end I made it through.  The final product had some issues where the straps meet the waist and it’s far too long for my tastes.  But I learned a lot about patterns.  And all in all I’m okay with final product in spite of its flaws.

Then a couple of days ago I decided to attempt to recreate my favorite sleep shirt.  The thing is BEYOND ancient but it’s so perfect for me.  It’s huge and has a big v-neck so even when I turn in my sleep it never seems to twist around me.  For years I’ve been looking for another one but nothing has come close.

So I got some knit fabric on sale at Jo-Ann’s and cut it in the generic shape of my sleep shirt.  I sewed it together and used some double fold biased tape at the collar.

All in all it’s not bad but I made some mistakes and I learned a whole lot.

The grain of the fabric is going in the wrong direction – I didn’t think about it because the fabric is all one color.  And doing it wrong taught me why it’s wrong.  And I won’t make the same mistake again.  But the shape and size is so perfect that it doesn’t matter.  I learned about the importance of clean lines to make clean seams.  I also learned that I need to work on my sleeve sizes.  And I got to practice my French seams which are very fun.

So I learned things and I gained skills.  And I have a new sleep shirt that I really like.

Things aren’t so bad.  Even with all the mistakes.

night

Leave a Reply

