White Elephants on Parade

March 6, 2010

Today was the first day of the Oakland Museum’s White Elephant Sale.  So I decided to go.  I’ve survived all day auctions, how bad could this be?

Ummmm yeah – famous last words.  At least it was an adventure.

I met some nice people at the BART and we piled into the shuttle… shades of the 30 Stockton.

The crowds were huge.  The warehouse was overWHELMING.  So much stuff… and a lot of it was junk in my opinion.

On the one hand I really like that things had a price tag and that was what you pay.  Until I found out that they drop the prices tomorrow… and we are back to the haggle.

Still – I wandered around but wasn’t willing to brave the lines until I stumbled upon the sewing patterns.  Oh the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s… wow.  I found quite a few to give a try and at 25 cents each.  And for $1 I found this for Peter over at Male Pattern Boldness.

I also picked up some lovely old handkerchiefs.  Then I abandoned the ship.  Too insane.

Instead of taking the shuttle back to the BART station I walked around and found some great little hidden gems.

I like the paintings in the intersections.

The Institute of Mosaic Art… how flipping cool is that?

I might have to take a class or two.

I wandered some more and came across some other things… here they are.

I didn't know Kevin had a noodle house.

All in all an exhausting day.

night

Leave a Reply

