Safra Catz is my new hero

March 12, 2010

Yesterday I went to a lunch time talk put on my Boalt Law school.

Thursday, March 11, 2010
The Anatomy of a Deal
Safra A. Catz, President of Oracle Corporation
12:40 to 1:40 pm
Boalt Hall, Room 105

Oracle President Safra Catz will give an insider’s look at the anatomy of a business deal, including the role of the various players on the Oracle team, how the business strategy to implement the deal was determined and implemented, and how the deal relates to the global marketplace in which Oracle operates.
This is a great opportunity to learn a business executive’s perspective about what skills and knowledge she expects her lawyers to have and contributions she expected her lawyers to make to the deal (planning, implementing and post-closing).

Bernie made me go.  I heart Bernie.  She’s super smart, good with marketing and has a wicked sense of humor.  My kind of people.

The actual lunch was VERY nice.  I had a roast turkey sandwich on whole wheat with a mixed greens salad and a cranberry crystal geyser.

But the talk… oh the talk.  Seriously – I made a note that I HEART this woman.

She is strong, smart, articulate and I think / from what I heard VERY pushy.

I want to be her when I grow up (without the high-profile job and law degree).  Seriously!

Now the talk was off the record so I’m not going to get in to that but I do want to record the thoughts I walked away with because I am SERIOUSLY impressed by this woman.

*** Don’t let the process dictate the outcome.***

***Be aware of other bidders before you start dropping your own bid.***

***The clock matters… get stuff done.  More time means more trouble.  Time costs money!***

and most importantly… to the point that I want stitched on a sampler…

***When someone says you are pushing too hard… push a little harder.  That line means you are almost there.***

Like I said… Safra Catz is my HERO!

night

Leave a Reply

