work life balance

May 7, 2010

It must all depend on the boss.

I used to HATE getting emails sent at 2am by the dragon lady.

It used to piss me off.  I think it was because they were infused with this feeling of “you should be thinking about work all the time like I am” OR “look at how dedicated I am, you should show more respect.”

I don’t know if you can tell but I was not very fond of the dragon lady… oh and you really have to earn my respect.

So why am I typing about this?

Because I’ve been answering my current boss lady’s emails when she sends them even if that’s at 8 at night or 7 in the morning.  I have my work email bounced to my home email so it’s not a big deal to me.  Besides… I really like the boss lady and she has told me that I do not need to even think about the message until I get to work… she just wants to get the idea out of her head or just get her inbox under control.

So it’s not the action.

It’s the intent.

I should have known that already.

night

Leave a Reply

