sometimes you actually do need a plot

May 11, 2010

I’m watching Rob Marshall’s Nine and it’s not really working for me.

I love the cinematography and the acting is fantastic.  And I could go on and on about the costumes.

The only thing really missing is a plot.

Well that and strong catchy musical numbers – not the dancing because the dancing is incredible but the songs?  Not so much.

When I listen to a song and all I can remember is the version from Forbidden Broadway?  That’s a problem.

This pisses me off because I really wanted to like this.  And I see where they were going with it.  But there just wasn’t a strong story line to take you to the end.  It was all so vague.  Like a character study which is fine but it’s a little difficult to be a musical, an adaptation AND a character study.

I did try to like this.  I watched it twice.  And it’s not bad, I don’t hate it, I just don’t really like it.  I’m glad I saw it, I just don’t care if I never see it again.

Hopefully a new movie will arrive in my mailbox and blow me away… soon.

night

Leave a Reply

