the weight of the fruit

June 4, 2010

Bernie made me go with her to Yogurtland yesterday.

I have avoided Yogurtland and similar frozen yogurt places because I am scared to death of the by the ounce payment plan.  I am afraid that I will end up with a $20 treat.

But I needed a treat yesterday and Bernie knew it.  So to Yogurtland we went.  I stuck with just yogurt but she got hers with fruit.

I only spent $2 and I got what to me was a lot of yogurt.

Then today Hanna and Niko and I had a conversation on the weight and worth of various toppings.  What toppings freeze up and get hard when you mix them into your yogurt?  What fruit is just too heavy to be worth it?  (Answer: bananas)  What is mochi?

Hanna had to explain it to me and then Whitney and Cynthia and I continued the discussion of those strange chewy things known at mochi.

Do other people have long involved multiple people over the course of many hours conversations about self-serve by the ounce frozen yogurt?  Or is it just me?

night

2 Responses to “the weight of the fruit”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I think it’s just you ;). Mochi is yummy! It’s made from a gluten-y Japanese rice. We actually had dinner at our friend’s place last night and he has a mochi machine. You put in rice and it steams it and shakes it and spins a paddle through the rice until it is a gluten-y ball. Than you tear pieces off the ball, with rice floured hands and make little balls and cook them on the stove top or in the oven and they puff up so they’re cooked on the outside, but chewy on the inside. You can add sugar at any point, depending on how sweet you want it, or what he did was mix sugar with soy sauce and we dipped the finished balls in that. You can also buy blocks of already prepared brown rice mochi at Whole Foods and cut them up and put them in the oven to puff up and then flavor with sweet or savory stuff. YUM!

    • eruditeslacker Says:

      I LOVE that you know all that! I only knew of mochi as a frozen desert thing but I had never had it and never know about it’s sideline as frozen yogurt toppings.


Leave a Reply

