It didn’t used to be this big of a deliberation

June 5, 2010

I’m trying to decide if I want to go to the movie tomorrow or not.

I used to go to the movies every single week.  I saw TONS of movies in the theater.

Not any more.  Last year I went to the movies 3 times and saw only 2 movies.  (Coraline in 3D and Star Trek twice if you want to know.)

I think part of the issue is the money.  $8 for a matinee ticket?  That’s a lot of money.  Forget about popcorn and a soda – that mark-up just makes me angry.

And then there are the people.  I don’t like people on a good day, force them into a tiny theater and expect them to behave?  Forget about it.

If I wait a little while the movie shows up in my mailbox courtesy of Netflix.  Flat monthly rate.  No fuss, no muss.

Despite all that…maybe I’ll go see Prince of Persia.  I won’t lie… it looks horrid.  But it also looks like a mix of things I actually like: Disney princess movie, romance novel, and action heavy computer game.

Bets are that I’ll talk myself out of it before showtime tomorrow.

But you never know.

night

Leave a Reply

