Is this why I went to college?

July 1, 2010

This post is subtitled: why yes “other tasks as assigned” IS my job description.

I actually thought about what to wear today… more so than usual.  New people were moving into our office and I wanted to look nice and professional.

I wore a black dress and black leggings and black wedge sandals.  I accessorized with a quartz necklace.

Then I got to the office and found out that half my day would be spent on the floor with a drill restructuring a desk from IKEA.The Dean of Students came by in his own indomitable / fantabulous style…  He didn’t see me at first but I said hello anyway.

When he saw me, he kind of froze.  I don’t think he was expecting to see me down there… and with a power tool no less.

But really – in the end… this is how I get and keep jobs.  I am always open to that last line of “Other Tasks As Assigned.”

night

Leave a Reply

