I need 5 stars to properly review something

July 3, 2010

I meant to write this yesterday but I fell asleep.  But better late than never.

So the other night I watched the new Wolfman with Benicio Del Toro.  And it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great.

I mean – it was visually stunning and the acting was good but it had some serious problems.

The first problem I had was VERY small.  It involved the music by Danny Elfman.  Now I LOVE Danny Elfman.  I think he’s fantastic.  But for Wolfman he decided to pay homage to Bram Stoker’s Dracula’s score… to the point where I got confused about what movie I was watching… that’s how similar the music was.

The second problem was very geeky and contains spoilers so if you don’t know the plot of Wolfman or it that matters to you please stop reading… now… because the spoilers are going to start.

The second problem had to do with the mythology / character development of the story.  As stories go it was basically very sound but here’s my issue – if turning into a wolfman means that you just rampantly kill everyone in sight then I want to know why.  Wolves don’t just kill EVERYONE around them.  Yes they are predators but come ON this is a bit far fetched.  If it’s based on the kind of person you are and releasing the inner ID then why aren’t the wolfmen different from each other because as people they are different.  Full moon equals psychotic sociopathic killing machine?  I need someone to explain why on that one.

So those are my basic issues with the movie.  On the plus side… like I said it was visually stunning and the acting was very good.  So while I didn’t like it, I also didn’t dislike it.

This is why I need not just five stars but I need five stars that are properly labeled.

1 star should be I LOATHED it!

2 stars should be I just didn’t like it.

3 stars should be I didn’t feel one way or another about it.

4 stars should be I liked it.

5 stars should be I LOVED it!

The Netflix stars are not labeled as well as I’d like because they are…

1 star is Hated It.

2 stars is Didn’t Like It.

3 stars is Liked It.

4 stars is Really Liked It.

5 stars is Loved It.

There is also a Not Interested button but that’s on one the Queue page.

I find this rating system wrong.  I end up marking a lot of things with 3 stars but what I really mean is that I don’t dislike it, rather than that I like it.

Anyway – that’s how I feel about rating systems.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: