Shakespeare was right…

July 22, 2010

In Act I Scene 3 of Hamlet, Polonius told his son Laertes some simple rules to live by.

The one we all remember is “Neither a borrower nor a lender be; For loan oft loses both itself and friend”.

Which is a brilliant piece of advice.

I’m reminded of this because today I went to the DeYoung to see the Birth of Impressionism exhibit, which was so beautiful and educational.

While I was there I was thinking about the International Arts and Crafts: William Morris to Frank Lloyd Wright exhibit I went to a few years ago.  I got the exhibit catalog and when I found out a friend was redoing her house in all authentic Arts and Crafts I lent her the book.  She’s had it for years.  Never mentioned it, never mentioned returning it.

I don’t think she’s keeping it on purpose, I just don’t think she thinks about the fact that she has something of mine and since I have not asked for it back there’s not reason for her to give it another thought.

I just sent an email asking for it back.

It’s mine and I want it.  I also wonder if asking for my own book back will have an effect on our friendship.  How stupid is that?

And if it does then this isn’t a friendship I want.

I’m tired of lending people things and explaining that it’s a loan and then never getting the item (usually a book) back.

I’m not going to lend another book without a damn fine reason ever again.

well… not without a damn good reason.

night

Leave a Reply

