and all without a recipe

July 24, 2010

So I finally embraced the fact that I was not going to find a recipe that I liked for my tomato sauce… while accepting that I was indeed going to make tomato sauce from scratch.

I found so many wonderful things at the Farmer’s Market…. seriously – the herbs I found were so amazing I think I’m ruined for all other herbs for the rest of my life.

Here’s my haul… notice my cool new reusable produce bags from flip and tumble.

First I blanched the tomatoes with instructions from this wonderful and informative post.

Aren’t they pretty?

I used a LOT of great aromatics to make a base for the sauce.

But I also caramelized some shallots to make sure there was a nice level of sweetness without resorting to sugar.

Put everything together and use a stick blender to make it all smooth… including the parsley and marjoram.

I must say, I am rather proud.

Night

One Response to “and all without a recipe”

  1. Clara Says:

    Mmmmm aromatics!


Leave a Reply

