shop local?

August 22, 2010

I was coming back from getting bread at the Bread Garden yesterday and window shopping at the killer little shops hidden on Claremont when I saw this sign taking about the 3/50 project.

Support the Brick and Mortar.  I can appreciate the idea.  But I think there should probably be some kind of consideration about why we should support the store itself.

Like this… why should I pay more in a store for something they are going to need to order and have shipped to them so that I can pay them as the middle man when I could just go online and get it myself cheaper and have it shipped to me?

I know very well what the mark up on retail is.  I’ve worked in both independent and chain stores.

So for that extra expense to make sense there needs to be a serve and a value given from the store.

Like Dark Carnival books… where the books SPILL over the stairs and in the aisles and just scream at you to take them home and read them.  Books from people you’ve never heard of … series to begin… new worlds to discover.

I went in to get the Library of America Lovecraft collection I have been wanting forEVER…

And then I randomly pulled two more books from the piles while heading to the front of the store to pay.

Stores should give you the opportunity to find things you wouldn’t think of one your own.  And it helps if the service level is stellar because if it’s going to be crappy then again… I could get this without you online and have it shipped directly to my home.

At least that’s what I think.

later

One Response to “shop local?”

  1. Clara Says:

    I need abundance in stores, and interesting displays. The site “things organized neatly” made me think about that today. For instance, this bread:

    http://thingsorganizedneatly.tumblr.com/post/758740003


Leave a Reply

