keeping track of time

September 1, 2010

Once upon a time I wouldn’t leave my apartment without a watch.

It was as if I was chained to it.  I had to know what time it was, always.

But I got over that… to the point where I don’t think any of the watches in my jewelry box even tell correct time right now.

A few weeks ago I stopped keeping track of my days.  I was in the habit of documenting my days in a calendar.  What I did, where I went, record after record of my days.

Then I stopped.  And instead of going back and filling in the blanks I realized that I just didn’t want to do it anymore.

It wasn’t important.

If I needed to figure something out – when I did something, where I went, etc…. then I could track that down if it came up but I didn’t need to preemptively document everything.

It’s both scary and freeing.  I’m leaning more towards freeing every single day.

night.

Leave a Reply

