More on the Vintage Fashion Expo

September 20, 2010

I thought I should spend a bit more time discussing the full on WIN that was the Vintage Fashion Expo that was in San Francisco over the weekend.

There was a moment where I overheard a mother tell her very small child that everything was over priced and only worth about $4 each.  I just marveled at the irony of paying for yourself and your child to come to something that you saw no different from Goodwill.

Besides – in the end – something’s value is gauged solely by what someone else will pay for it.  Well that and not all used clothes are the same.

A woman named Katherine had a very lovely booth with tons of fantastic finds.  Everything I pulled out had something wonderful going for it.  I actually got to touch not one but TWO Ceil Chapman dresses.  Katherine thought I had great taste.  An eye for design.  That’s quite the compliment.

I meet a lady named Jane who sold me my dress.  She was great and had a wonderful sense of humor.  The tax on the dress made the numbers difficult so I just told her to round-up and call it a day.  She liked that.

The woman who sold me my coat needed help getting a photo from a text message and I helped her.  So she paid for my sales tax as a thank you.  So the tax thing came full circle.

I had some great conversations with people about how vintage fashion really puts the wearer in the driver’s seat.  There are no set rules.  You have to be your own stylist.  And that freedom is both very frightening and very liberating.  I’m not entirely certain I’m ready for it.

But hopefully soon.

Personally – I’d like to rock the wiggle dress.

And that’s the last thing I took away from the whole adventure.  While Winnie could get half a dozen new outfits and untold numbers of new gloves… I need to find new designers rocking old looks in my size.

Speaking of size – here’s one last thought / realization on that topic.  Back when vintage fashion was new people did a TON of alterations.  Things were made of wovens that didn’t have the stretch of modern knits.  to get things to fit just right you added darts and tucks etc.  Now the thing about darts is that they are incredibly specific to the measurements of the person being fitted.

So vintage clothes tend to be fitted to very specific body types.  If you can find something vintage that matches your body you are almost duty bound to buy it because it’s not likely to fit anyone else like that.

Personally I like knits, I like the give.  But at the same time… there is nothing wrong with a perfectly fitted woven garment.

Herein end-ith my thoughts on vintage fashion.

night

Leave a Reply

