filing cabinet of the mind

September 22, 2010

In a meeting at work today someone asked a friend of mine if he had a file in his head of all the stories he tells.

It made me think about how we structure out thoughts / our ideas / our histories.

Personally I keep my mind somewhere in between a Dewey decimal system library index and the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankenweiler.  It makes sense to me and I know how to get a hold of just about any information held in its files but it may take some digging.

I wonder if my ability to just run a system search and find data in my mind is because of my analytical up bringing or my willingness to accept the history that I own for myself.  I keep records of what has happened because I’m not trying to hide anything from myself.

If that makes any kind of sense.

I wonder about it because the person in the meeting that asked the question seemed to just not have access to recent memories and it made me wonder… is that on purpose?  Or are you just not hardwired to remember things?  Is it sloppy record keeping on purpose or by accident?

In the end I guess it really doesn’t matter.  It is not my job to understand other people.

My job is to do my work and attempt to understand my friends as best I can.  Everyone else… not so much my problem.

Which doesn’t mean that I’m not vaguely fascinated by the idea of other people’s brains… just that i don’t need to dwell on it.

Until I become a zombie and then I think I might saute them in a little butter and eat them with a lovely, full-bodied red wine.

But that’s other topic of conversation.

night.

Leave a Reply

