Making new friends the hard way

September 30, 2010

Work today was all about putting out fires.

Crazy, wacky, I don’t know how that happened but okay let’s deal with the situation we are in right this moment fires.

Sort of all those things that end up in the “and other tasks as assigned” line of my job description.

Now as bad as that sounds I must say…  if you just embrace the wackiness and don’t think about how you got there then the adventure of unraveling these things can be fun.

And plus you might meet some cool people along the way.

Now my very favorite new friend is a delightfully wicked / brilliant woman who works in HR in another department.  I need to buy her coffee because she is more full of win than anyone I’ve met in ages.

But the best STORY from today’s madcap adventures has to do with some keys.

So keys were order and keys were made but one form wasn’t filled out and sent to the right people.  So that was a problem.

But then I started digging.  And so yes – keys created, Cynthia remembers getting them and logging them but not giving them away but she must have because she doesn’t have them anymore.

Charles cut the keys and remember the keys and the order but he gave them to Cynthia so he doesn’t have them.

Now Charles and Cynthia are AWESOME people.  If it weren’t for the key madness I never would have met them.  And as a bonus when everything gets resolved tomorrow I get to actually meet my friend Tracie that I only know from phone and email.

So one with the key story… I just wanted to tell you about my new friends first.

There I was at my desk and I’m talking to Charles and he tells me what he knows and I’m talking to Cynthia and she tells me what she knows and I’m talking to all of my people and we are all looking for these keys like it’s the treasure from “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World”…  To no avail.

Finally – I go to Cynthia so I can see the scene of the crime as it were – the last place the keys were before the disappearance.  And we look and we talk and finally we accept … I swear it was like stages of grief.  And finally we decide to have another key cut and then we will figure out if we need to do a re-key.

Cynthia has the hook-up so she called the lock shop and talks to a manager.

Who

Has

The

KEYS!!!

Because they didn’t have the proper paperwork, he thought they were a mistake and took them from Cynthia’s desk to figure out what was supposed to happen to them.

We get them tomorrow.

And now I have new friends who have been through an adventure with me.

I’m following Jenn the Birthday Girl’s advice and looking on the bright side… because it’s better in the long run to put things in a positive spin if you can.  You know… so you don’t go mad.

night

Leave a Reply

