in love with Russian military surplus

October 5, 2010

I had this incredible NEED to go out on Sunday and shop.  For some insane reason I wanted more technical gear so I headed to the North Face Outlet on Gilman.  I stopped at Title Nine on 4th Street first but didn’t even bother to try anything on.  North Face was having their sample sale but all I saw was size M stuff and that wasn’t going to work.  Nothing really jumped out at me.

Besides – should I really be stocking up on technical gear?  Is that the look I want to cultivate?  ((I’m still working on what I look I DO want to cultivate…. current answer – don’t have a clue, but thanks for asking.))

Anyway – I failed at Title Nine, and at the North Face Outlet and then again at the Royal Robbins outlet and REI.  But as I was making my way home feeling less than fulfilled I randomly wandered into an Army Navy surplus store on San Pablo.

Just as a joke… but then I saw it.  I had to have it.  It was… IS … perfect.

A summer weight Russian navy shirt.  Mine’s more ivory and blue than white and blue but anyway you slice it… I love this shirt.

It’s 100% cotton, made in Russia, with Russian tags and everything.  I need to make sure that I don’t accidentally put it in the dryer because it will shrink to toddler’s size.

Maybe its’ the boat neck that draws me to it.  I’ve been wearing v-necks for so long that I think I really like the idea of covering up a bit for winter.

Then again maybe it’s my love of the Clancy novel Hunt for Red October.  Or my memories of childhood during the cold war.

It’s probably everything.

But in the end… all that matters is that it’s just my style.

night

Leave a Reply

