art and science of lending

December 10, 2010

I used to lend things out all the time.  Books, movies, etc.  But most of the time I never got the items back.

“Neither a borrower nor a lender be” and all that.

Just the other week I got a call from my mother asking if I still had two of the books she had lent me.  Now as someone who has had lent items disappear on her, I know for a fact that I sent those books back to her.

She’s didn’t mind so much about The Devil in the White City but she missed The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society enough to want me to find her a copy. So I got one from Amazon and sent it to her.  Tis the season and all that.

I’ve been thinking about this today not just because I mailed out the book to mom today but because I had lent an ice cream cookbook to Winnie and she made sure to give it back to me today because today was my last day at work before vacation.

I like when people think about that… and it insures that I will lend Winnie more cookbooks in the future.

Because that’s how that works.

night

Leave a Reply

