BUBBLES!

December 12, 2010

Tonight Vintage Berkeley on College had a Champagne tasting.

God Love those Vintage Berkeley folks.I ran into John and his amazingly lovely wife before they started and we chatted for a good portion of the evening.  Discussing the relative merits of the various offerings, amongst other topics of conversation.

Earlier in the day I had called to find out what my favorite bubbly drinker would like as her birthday and Christmas gifts and was told rather emphatically “PINK”.

So I was paying close attention to the pink bubbles.

I was also paying attention to price points.  Since that’s an issue with the people involved.  One must pay attention to price ceilings when told to do as such.

So on the pink bubbles front I got the 2007 Raventos i Blanc “de Nit” Cava Rose which was quite good and the NV Luis Pato Espumante Baga Rose Portugal (or “duck”) which was PHENOMENAL!!!  I got one of each instead of just two “ducks” because I wanted her to make the decision about which she liked best.

For myself I got the NV Le Vigne di Alice Prosecco di Valdobbiadene which I ADORED.  It was complex and hard to pin down and never for one moment did I start to plan a meal around it.  I enjoyed it just for its own merits.  Which was amazing since I was meal planning with every other wine in the shop.

In the “price point too high to be purchased without an occasion” category I really, really enjoyed the NV Barnaut Grand Cru Reserve Champagne and the NV Dosnon & Lepage Brut Champagne Recolte Noire which is interesting since they seem to be on complete opposite ends of the taste spectrum.  I also really liked the NV Diebolt-Vallois Blanc de Blancs Champagne but again it seems like an occasion wine and right now I’m a girl without an occasion.

I got to spend time with wonderful people talking about interesting thing all night long.

It was marvelous and I can’t wait until they do it again.

And now for a bubble bath.

Night.

One Response to “BUBBLES!”

  1. clara Says:

    I was going to ask if this is the place with the bathtub, but there it is!!!


Leave a Reply

