Fear of Hording

December 18, 2010

Renee and I were talking about our fear of hording and the lengths we go to in order to escape that frightening diagnosis.

I don’t know about Renee but I like my stuff.  It gives me a certain level of comfort.  Open rooms and white towels & sheets are a bit too mom’s house for me.

But that does not mean that I want to end up like the Collyers in New York

or God forbid like the Beales of Grey Gardens.

I liked what Renee said … about how I keep all my things organized.  And how I keep control of things and get rid of a lot of things.

She and I watched the same organizing shows and now we are fascinated by the same horrific stories of hording.

Maybe the fear will keep us safe.  Maybe that’s the benefit of these stories.

Here’s hoping.

night

Leave a Reply

